Thursday, April 28, 2011

Tallahassee Authors Network Showcase 5.21.2011!

Mayor Marks proclaims Saturday, May 21, 2011,


as Tallahassee Authors Networking Day . . .


Join us for the Tallahassee Authors Showcase, 12:00 - 3:00 p.m.


Amen-Ra's Bookshop, 812 S. Macomb Street, Tallahassee, FL


FREE and open to the public


******


Special guest speaker, Keith Rodgers (founder of Black on Black Rhyme)


You're also invited to join the Tallahassee Authors Network (Facebook page)


click on this link to "like" us now...


http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Tallahassee-Authors-Network/93715240877


We welcome published authors, aspiring authors, publishers, readers, book club members, editors, book reviewers, and all interested parties from across the nation to join our online group and participate in this annual event. Come meet the following published members of TAN and buy autographed copies of their books:


Guest authors:


1. Shanon Nelson (Gainesville), http://www.shanonnelson.com/
2. Gladys Gikiri (Atlanta), http://www.mymalaika.com/
3. Twyla Prindle (Jacksonville), http://www.twylaprindle.com/
4. Angelia Menchan (Jacksonville), http://www.angeliamenchan.com/
5. Tracy Darity (Tampa), http://www.tracyldarity.com/


Tallahassee authors:


6. Dana and Sharon Dennard, http://www.aakhetworld.com/
7. Nedra White, www.outskirtspress.com/graciesjood
8. Ella Knight, ellaknight57@hotmail.com
9. Roslyn Thomas, roslyn_thomas@yahoo.com
10. Angela Hodge, http://www.angelayhodge.com/
11. LaKia Morrison, http://www.lakiamorrison.com/
12. Marvin "Merv" Mattair, http://www.kingsqueens.org/
13. Nicole Perkins, nikkid_p1@hotmail.com
14. Marilynn Griffith, http://www.marilynngriffith.com/
15. Irma Clark, www.facebook.com/ineclark
16. Jessica Wallace, mailto:www.imanidanceprogram@hotmail.com
17. Tremayne Moore, http://www.maynetre.com/
18. Kena Bwembya, http://www.kenabwembya.com/
19. Felicia S.W. Thomas, http://www.feliciaswthomas.com/
20. Barbara Joe Williams, http://www.barbarajoewilliams.com/


For more details about this event, please contact Barbara Joe Williams via email or call her at: (850) 264-3341. We would appreciate your support at this memorable event and please help spread the word by forwarding this message to your entire database.

Wednesday, April 27, 2011

Why I Read Books, But Don't Write Them


I clearly remember the day that my writer's block began. I was six years old, and my mother had given me a diary - nothing fancy, but it made me feel like a grownup! Thinking back now, I was journaling long before Oprah said it was cool. LOL

In one of my first entries, I had written about our trip to the grocery store. Only, I spelled grocery as "gotwe"! I had a little key to the diary and kept it locked...or so I thought. Somehow, as mothers can do, she found a way in and discovered my spelling faux pas. Instead of correcting me, she chastised me for the mis-spelled word (smh). Let's just say it was not a pretty picture.

I was devastated, and I swore on that day to never, ever write another personal entry for anyone to see! I didn't for a long, long time. Now that I'm older, though, I have committed my creativity to paper. But the only person that I allow to read it is my husband - a kind man who gives me constructive criticism and encourages me to keep writing. I also recently joined a local community of authors and readers, and our next meeting assignment is to bring in something that we're writing. This will be a big step for me - letting others read what I've written. I'm a little hesitant...but, hey, I'm writing this blog.

Maybe there's hope for me yet!